Urban Exploration - East Yelland Power Station
Walking around here we wish we had come a few years earlier as most has now sadly gone but still we found small pockets of hidden gems on the site that we not previously explored due to the site being flooded.
History of East Yelland Power Station
The East Yelland Power Station was once an operational coal-fired electricity production plant located in a partially hidden area on the estuary, next to the tarka trail. The power station was one of only two located to the west of Hinkley Point. The power station was opened on 21 April 1955 by Lord Fortescue. In March 1984, it was announced by the Central Electricity Generating Board that the power station would close by the end of October that year. Fuel for the power station was obtained from coal mines in South Wales, and was transported across the Bristol Channel onto a jetty specially constructed for the power station. However, due to the closure of the coal mines in the 1980s, coal would be more expensive to obtain from other areas of the country. Therefore, it was more economical to close the power station. Today, most of the power station, which covered an area of 3.1ha, has been demolished.